SM0VPO Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Passive Balanced Mixer - problems.

Go down

Passive Balanced Mixer - problems. Empty Re: Passive Balanced Mixer - problems.

Post by admin Mon Apr 18, 2022 10:32 pm

Hello again all,
I have been tearing mu hair out for these mixer problems and I have got the answers. Now everything is on/track with the project. As usual, family life (shopping, Easter food, washing terrace, oiling terrace, digging etc) took priority.

1 - The signal generator I have is an older generator telecom that can run AM, FM, PM etc. and it can even synthesize a GSM radio base (HD not fitted) BCCH. Modulation tone covers 0.01Hz to 499.999KHz and FM deviation from 1Hz to +/-350kHz. Loads menus in it, and needs a mouse to navigate all the different menus. It has a 5V / 12 V DC bias function at the output. I have been using the generator for about 12 years and never knew the DC shift function existed. The DC superimposed on the RF out cobbled the diodes operating point. As soon as I disabled the DC, the mixer started behaving as expected, but with a low output (13.5dB conversion loss).

2 - Now the mixer is behaving as a text-book mixer, so I changed the mixer diodes for Schottky diodes. I have a small stock of Hewlett Packard spare parts - HSCH-3486 Zero-Bias Schottky Diodes. It made a world of difference. Conversion loss reduced to about 9dB.

3 - Experimented with ports. Swapped ports in the previous diagram. Gained another dB: RF is now 130MHz. IF is now 14MHz and LO is now 144MHz.

4 - Experimented with ferrites. I used a pair of 2-hole "binocular" (pigs-nose) ferrites. Worked a treat. Gained another dB and now identical loss in both directions- 7dB. With +18dB drive the conversion (up and down) is linear (dB for dB) up to about +5dB input. I did reduce the 130MHz drive to +18dBm from the -23.5dBm I was using earlier. Didn't want to burn the Schottky diodes.